Archive for May 6, 2008

Brett has Bionic Eyes

Brett invited me to his room last night. Sure there were 1000 other people at the Flight of the Conchords concert, but I know he was talking to me. I’m pretty sure we shared a ‘moment’. He must have, like, bionic eyesight since I was in the 4th row…in the balcony.

(But seriously, he said he was staying at the Sofitel in room 921.) You know that some poor roadie was harassed all night by star-struck drunken cougars.

The concert was jaw-droppingly amazing. Hubster and I BOTH laughed riotously, not necessarily at the same parts, but whatever, we don’t need to examine that too closely.

On the way home we spent the car ride discussing just what makes them so appealing.

You can easily imagine Jemaine and Brett back in their dorm room when you see their act. You don’t need to read their bios to “know” them.  Watching them is kind of like watching my friends John and Pete, but with guitars, and a script. They’ve perfected their selfconscious /imaginary world-influenced skit.

Last night they played all their hits.  If you don’t know them (like if you are poor and can’t afford HBO or something.) Watch them play “Business Time”.

The philly crowd received the Conchords well, especially since they apparently googled “Philadelphia culture’ before going on stage. There were plenty of shout outs to “West Philadelphia Born and Raised,” “Boys to Men,” and powdered wig-wearing “Ben Franklin.” The effort was mightily appreciated by their fans.  Shit, I screamed like a schoolgirl.

Last night I slept in my “Brunettes not Fighter Jets” tee, and had sweet sweet kiwi-filled dreams….

May 6, 2008 at 9:08 pm 1 comment


Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category